Skip to main content

The titles of professor and associate professor are open to all employees of the University. Below is a list of all current titles.


Jenny Anderson Professor of Applied Sport and Leisure 
Graham Baldwin Professor of Employer Engagement
Mike Barnett Professor of Maritime Safety
Richard Blackwell Professor of Higher Education Policy and Practice
Stewart Bruce-Low Professor of Sport and Exercise Science
Edward Chaney Professor of Fine and Decorative Arts
Suzanne Dixon Professor of Creative Enterprise
Steven Henderson Professor of Business Strategy
Tony Hope Professor of Automation and Control
Martin James Professor of Music Industries
Jane Longmore Professor of Urban History
Elizabeth Mytton Professor of Legal Education
Maurice Owen Professor of Fine Art
Rod Pilling Professor of Media
Nicholas Potts Professor of Economics
Brandon Taylor  Professor of History of Art
David Watkins  Professor of Management Development
Mike Wilkinson Professor of International Education
Tim Wilks Professor of Cultural History
Pete Wilson Professor of Bass Guitar
Claire Pekcan Professor of Maritime Applied Psychology
Minghua Zhao Professor of Maritime Sociology
Peter Lloyd Professor of Visual Arts
Chris Barlow Professor of Acoustics
Syamantak Bhattacharya Professor of Maritime Management

Associate professors

Timos Almpanis Associate Professor
Christopher Barlow  Associate Professor 
Andrew Doig Associate Professor
Richard Elliot Associate Professor
Roger Emery Associate Professor
Christine Fountain Associate Professor
Anthony Gallagher Associate Professor
Phil Green Associate Professor
Steve Hogg Associate Professor
Robin Jones Associate Professor
Linda Juleff Associate Professor
Barbara Lee  Associate Professor
Ramesh Marasini Associate Professor
Guy Moreton Associate Professor
Simon Mouatt Associate Professor
Oscar Mwaanga Associate Professor
Simon Parsons Associate Professor
Claire Pekcan Associate Professor
Fayyaz Rehman Associate Professor
Paul Rutter Associate Professor
Tony Steyger Associate Professor
Brian Wink Associate Professor
Paul Marchbank Associate Professor
Chris Anderton Associate Professor
Kate Pike Associate Professor
Shakeel Ahmad Associate Professor
Panagiotis Patlakas Associate Professor
Whysnianti Basuki Associate Professor
James Steele Associate Professor
Carolyn Westbrook Associate Professor
Kalin Penev Associate Professor
Jing Lu Associate Professor

Emeritus professors

Roger Brown  Emeritus Professor
Ian Chandler Emeritus Professor
Brian Cotton Emeritus Professor
Van Gore Emeritus Professor
Alan Hibbert  Emeritus Professor
Patricia Park Emeritus Professor
David Johnson Emeritus Professor
Graham King Emeritus Professor
Maurice Lalley Emeritus Professor
David Leyland Emeritus Professor
John Millican Emeritus Professor
Ashok Ranchhod Emeritus Professor
Jeff Richards Emeritus Professor
Michael Richards Emeritus Professor
Margaret Ross Emeritus Professor
Reg Ruel Emeritus Professor
Elizabeth Mytton Emeritus Professor

Visiting professors

Mike Biles  Visiting Professor
John Baxendale Visiting Professor
Michael Burton Visiting Professor
Sara Cremer Visiting Professor
James Hilton Visiting Professor
Trevor Horn Visiting Professor
Gill Hudson Visiting Professor
Colin Lester Visiting Professor
John Lloyd Visiting Professor
Simon May Visiting Professor
Mike Moran  Visiting Professor
John Norris Wood Visiting Professor
Simon Nye Visiting Professor
Graham Walker Visiting Professor
Alan Whitehead Visiting Professor
Sheila Whiteley Visiting Professor
Hengfeng Zuo Visiting Professor
Dean Humphreys Visiting Professor
William Penney Visiting Professor
Stewart Bruce-Low Visiting Professor
John Chudley Visiting Professor

Visiting fellows

Ann Brine Visiting Fellow
David Bull Visiting Fellow
David B Callaghan Visiting Fellow
Rodney Cousens Visiting Fellow
Steve Davis Visiting Fellow
Lawrie McMenemy Visiting Fellow
Graham Stevens Visiting Fellow
Simon Roffey Visiting Fellow
Christian Wencza Visiting Fellow
Mark Platten Visiting Fellow
James Puddicombe Visiting Fellow
Michael Apted  Visiting Fellow
Mick Audsley Visiting Fellow
Zoe Ball Visiting Fellow
Mark Billingham Visiting Fellow
Marcus Brigstocke Visiting Fellow
Melanie Chisholm  Visiting Fellow 
Pete Clifton  Visiting Fellow 
Anne V Coates Visiting Fellow
Avishai Cohen  Visiting Fellow 
Paul Franklin Visiting Fellow
Robert Gorman Visiting Fellow
Rob Grant  Visiting Fellow 
Nigel Hess  Visiting Fellow 
Malcolm Hignett Visiting Fellow
Peter Hodges Visiting Fellow
James Hunt Visiting Fellow
Carl Kendall-Palmer Visiting Fellow
Dennis Leigh (also known as John Foxx)  Visiting Fellow 
Colin Lester-Balsam  Visiting Fellow 
David McComb  Visiting Fellow 
James McMahon Visiting Fellow
Phil McNulty  Visiting Fellow 
Nick McPhee Visiting Fellow
Esfandiar Monfaredzadeh Visiting Fellow
Bijan Mortazavi Visiting Fellow
Lucy O'Brien  Visiting Fellow 
Sir Alan Parker Visiting Fellow
Frances Parker  Visiting Fellow 
Dave Poulton Visiting Fellow
Alexandra Shakespeare  Visiting Fellow 
Feargal Sharkey  Visiting Fellow 
Briggy Smale  Visiting Fellow 
Paul Stickler  Visiting Fellow 
Jeff Taylor  Visiting Fellow 
Julian Uthank Visiting Fellow
Sean Yazbeck  Visiting Fellow 
Dave Elsey Visiting Fellow
Holly Johnson Visiting Fellow
Graham Berridge Visiting Fellow
Rachel Ley Visiting Fellow
Back to top