Skip to main content
Solent Unviersity Southampton logo
Solent Unviersity Southampton logo

Kevin Rogers

Academic Registrar

Policy, Governance and Information

Kevin Rogers, Director of Solent Law School

Role at Solent

As Academic Registrar, Kevin has responsibility for the entirety of Academic Registry including Student Registry; the Centre for Quality Assurance; Partnerships; Student Complaints and Appeals; and Exams, Certificates and Graduation.

Kevin's previous roles included being Director of Solent Law School, Associate Dean (Academic Quality Assurance) within the School of Law, Criminology and Political Science at the University of Hertfordshire and Deputy Head of Law at Roehampton University. He has a strong background in quality assurance, learning and teaching, partnership working, and university governance.

As an academic lawyer, his teaching/research background is within commercial law-related fields and he has published widely in these areas. Kevin has a particular interest in data protection and over the last few years has applied this research by providing consultancy work to various law firms and multi-national companies.

Kevin has worked with a range of external organisations. Kevin was appointed to the Access Qualification Development Group, which is a committee of the QAA and is focused particularly on the development of the Access qualifications. Formerly a QAA Institutional Reviewer, he is a Quality Assessor for the Office for Students, Deputy Chair of the Academic Registrars' Council Admissions Practitioner Group, Chair of the Local Governing Body of Tring Secondary School (part of the Ridgeway Learning Partnership) and sits on the Programme Committee for the College of Legal Practice. He was Director for the Central Application Board (Lawcabs) and sat on the National Working Group on Law Degree Apprenticeships. He was Secretary for the Executive Committee of the British and Irish Law, Education and Technology Association (BILETA) and was a member of the Law Society’s Technology and Law Reference Group from 2006-2016.