Skip to main content
Anthony Gallagher

Professor Anthony Gallagher PhD, FRGS

Head of Interdisciplinary Research and Knowledge Exchange

Warsash School of Maritime Science and Engineering

023 8201 3748 ext. 3748 Room no. A222a


Anthony studied at the Institute of Offshore Engineering, Heriot-Watt University, and completed his PhD at Southampton. He specialises in marine and maritime sustainability, with research interests in the role of adaptation to climate change; environmental assessment and low carbon energy solutions; and pollution from marine litter and micro plastics.

Anthony has worked on a range of international collaborative projects. He is principal investigator on an international EU-funded collaboration looking at low carbon solutions and renewable energy interventions within ports and port operating environments, known as Port Energy Conservation and Savings (PECS), which started in 2017.

Anthony has led on a number of research projects evaluating the impact of microplastics in the marine environment, including in the Solent estuary and the Costa Rican Thermal Dome.

He was project co-ordinator for the EU-funded Intensive Programme in European Integrated Coastal Zone Management (COZIP). He was also involved in the EU Thematic Network on Maritime Education, Training and Mobility of Seafarers (METNET); and in developing a set of sustainability indicators as part of the EU Demonstration Programme on the integrated management of coastal zones.

Anthony also worked on the World Bank-funded management of Apo Reef, a coral atoll and marine national park in the Philippines. He has also carried out an evaluation of the Wadden Sea, a particularly sensitive sea area, on behalf of the Common Wadden Sea Secretariat; and, as a partner with the University of the Azores, on a British Council-funded project, looked at adaptation to climate change for small islands. He was also involved in the Coastal Communities Adapting to Climate Change (CCATCH) project.

Anthony is chairman of the Hamble Estuary Partnership and a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society.