Skip to main content

Friday 16 August 2013

Over 1,000 turn out for school sport awards

On the 18th July 2013, Southampton Guildhall hosted the second annual City School Sports Awards to celebrate all of the sporting success from the last academic year. Over a thousand people were invited to join the celebrations that featured over 75 awards from 13 sports. Pupils and teachers from 21 schools across the city came to pick up their awards, presented by Daisy Brookman, and a multitude of VIPs and Guests who kindly gave up their time to attend the awards evening.

Daisy, an Olympic Torch Bearer and Games Maker, hosted the night and gave us an insight into the workings of international athletes, ex-professionals, and sports development officers by conducting interviews prior to the presentation of trophies. The following VIPs attended the event to present the awards:

  • Swimming – Gary Abraham – 1980 Moscow Olympics Bronze Medallist.
  • Rugby – Budge Pountney – Former Scottish International Rugby Captain.
  • Rugby – Ivan Torpey – RFU Development Officer.
  • Rounders and Cricket – Lawrence Prittipaul – Ex Hampshire Cricketer.
  • Football – Greig Stewart – Saints Foundation – Premier League 4 Sport Officer.
  • Netball and Basketball – Mia Ritchie.
  • Athletics – Darren Curtis – Team Spirit – Director.
  • Racket Sports – Zoe Bambridge – LTA Hampshire and IOW.
  • Hockey and Golf – Matt Robins – PGA Professional at Southampton Municipal Golf Course.

Some younger award winners

This year saw the introduction of the Condor Education ‘Outstanding Achievement’ awards that recognised those schools that have made a great contribution to school sport and the School Games. Three primary and three secondary schools were awards the outstanding achievement award, and then a further 2 awards were handed to the KS2 and KS3 schools of the year:

  • Primary – Townhill Junior School, Bassett Green Primary School, and Bitterne C of E Junior School.
  • Secondary – Cantell Maths and Computing College, St George Catholic VA College, St Anne’s Catholic School.
  • KS2 School of the Year: Springhill Catholic Primary School.
  • KS3 School of the Year: Upper Shirley High School.

​A special thanks to all of the staff at the Guildhall for the running and of the night, and to DE Photo who supplied and excellent service to parents and young people. Also, thank you to the Daily Echo for their 4 page coverage of the event.

Roll on 2014!

Follow @SouthamptonSGO on Twitter to keep up to date with the latest school sports news!